How SSC CGL Result Is Calculated?

Lakhs of candidates appear for SSC CGL exam conducted annually but only those who do diligent and dedicated study make it to the final SSC CGL Result. SSC CGL Exam is among the most desired examinations by students who have passed graduation and are willing to grab a good government job. 

This article will walk you through the procedure by which the final SSC CGL Result is calculated. The SSC CGL result has many levels and you come to know them in detail in this article.

SSC CGL Exam Brief

SSC CGL is Staff Selection Commission Combined Graduate Level Examination. Candidates who clear the exam get posted in Group B and Group C sector under the Government of India and earn a decent salary.

SSC CGL Result Procedure

SSC CGL results have four phases. The calculation of the final result is a bit complicated as it is the outcome of a long selection process which is discussed in detail below.


Candidates who successfully apply for the exam are called to appear for SSC CGL Tier I exam. In Tier I exam there are four sections i.e. reasoning, quantitative aptitude, GK and English. Each section has 25 questions of 2 marks each. Hence, candidates have to answer 100 questions of 200 marks in 1 hour.

To get shortlisted in the Tier I result it is important for candidates to obtain the minimum SSC CGL Cut Off set by the commission. It is better if candidates secure excellent scores in Tier I and not just the minimum SSC CGL Cut Off as it can have a positive effect on the final SSC CGL result. 


Image Source: Pixabay


Candidates who qualify in Tier I are called for SSC CGL Tier II exam. It is the most important level as it determines the fate of candidates opting for different posts. There are four papers of 200 marks each carrying 100 questions in each paper. Paper I and Paper II are mandatory for all candidates. 

Paper I – Quantitative Aptitude
Paper II – English Comprehension
Paper III – Statistics
Paper IV – general studies

Candidates who chose the stream of accounting/audit, have to write  Paper IV along with papers I and II and candidates opting for the post of Junior Statistical Officer are required to appear for paper III along with mandatory ones.

Apart from this, candidates who opt for AAOs and Statistical Investigators have to write all the four papers of the Tier-II exam mandatorily.


Candidates who pass Tier I can appear for both Tier II and Tier III because it is made complementary with the SSC CGL Tier II exam. However, candidates who fail to score the minimum qualifying marks in SSC CGL Tier II exam their answer sheets for Tier III will not be evaluated. Hence, Tier II exam is the determinant of Final SSC CGL Result. The Tier III exam of SSC CGL asks questions related to English writing such as application or letter writing, precis or essays etc.


Tier IV of SSC CGL exam is basically qualifying in nature i.e. marks secured in Tier IV are not added in the final merit list. However, it is mandatory for candidates to pass in Tier IV because it impacts the final SSC CGL result. Candidates who fail Tier IV are not considered applicable for auditors or inspectors posts. Thus, his candidature might get rejected. 

The commission in SSC CGL Tier IV checks a candidate”s efficiency in typing, where he is expected to type 200 words in 15 minutes.

The final SSC CGL result calculation is done based on the total marks of candidates scored in all four stages. The merit list of SSC CGL exam is prepared in accordance with the total marks of the candidate.

Hence, all the candidates willing to appear for SSC CGL exam are advised to give equal importance to all the Tiers if they want to make it to the final SSC CGL Result.


About Author
Rajan is a technology blogger. He loves to blog about blogging, business, gadgets, social media, latest tech news and windows .


Leave a Reply